Adekunle Gold Drops First Single After Signing with Def Jam Records

by Ayomide Oriowo

Mar 15, 2023, 3:11:27 PM

“The Nigerian singer has arguably the most purely beautiful voice in the Afrobeats scene. He puts his smooth yet earthy tones to seductive use” 


Adekunle Gold, singer-songwriter and international Afropop sensation whose fourth studio album Catch Me If You Can has garnered over a half-billion global streams since its release one year ago, makes his official debut via Def Jam Recordings with the release of “Party No Dey Stop” featuring Zinoleesky, the new single available at all platforms today. The new song is a club hit about the resilience and rise of Adekunle and Zinoleesky in the music industry. The vibrant and fast paced song matches the energy of the culturally rich and buzzing Agege neighborhood in Lagos where AG and Zinoleesky grew up. The two artists are celebrating their wins as said best in the tune - "When we pop, Yeah we up, Plenty spending, Like it's nothing." Produced by Grammy Award winning producer Kel-P and Monro.  

The release of “Party No Dey Stop” marks the beginning of a year-long campaign for Adekunle, whose hotly anticipated fifth studio album is due for release this summer. After hitting the summer festivals here and abroad, his four-month world tour will kick off in North America in September, and carry on across the UK, Europe, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, South America, and the Caribbean through 2024. 

In support of Catch Me If You CanAdekunle played over 45 advance sold-out shows in 2022 – with 19 dates in the U.S. and Canada including New York, Los Angeles, and Toronto – plus London, Paris, Adelaide, Amsterdam, Stockholm, and more. Along the way, he stunned NPR Music listeners with his Tiny Desk Performance, as he offered breathtaking live versions of some of his best loved hit records.

Catch Me If You Can (released through Afro Urban Records via Platoon) spun off feature collaborations with top-tier talent including Ty Dolla $ign, Stefflon Don, Fatoumata Diawara and Fousheé; and hit singles starting with the summer anthem “5 Star,” "It Is What It Is", "Sinner" featuring Lucky Daye, "High" featuring Davido, and "Mercy."


Want updates straight into your Inbox?

Enter your name and email to get the latest news from the TurnTable team, and in-depth knowledge into music and the numbers behind them.